

SOROPTIMIST INTERNATIONAL OF EUROPE **PEACE PRIZE 2025**

Call for Candidates



Statue by Bettina Scholl Sabbatini



Selection Criteria. All nominees should satisfy at least three of the following four criteria:

- Long-term and sustainable work
- Exemplarity and sense of responsibility, dedication to a cause
- Altruism/selflessness
- Transparency and tolerance

Nominees' work should be in one of the following areas:

- Human rights and social justice
- Fighting poverty and economic injustice
- Eliminating gender-based violence and discrimination
- Ending war, violence, and armed conflict or alleviating the effects thereof

The Prize

The Soroptimist International of Europe Peace Prize is intended not only to award the winner for the exceptional work they have already undertaken but also to facilitate their future projects dedicated to the establishment and maintenance of peace in their community and beyond.

The Peace Prize carries a substantial award of EUR 20,000, along with coverage of travel and accommodation expenses to attend the award ceremony. The recipient will also receive an official certificate, signed by the President of Soroptimist International of Europe and the Chairperson of the Jury, and a unique statue designed by Luxembourg-based artist and Soroptimist, Bettina Scholl Sabbatini.

The winner will be notified two months prior to the prize presentation, which will take place at the Soroptimist International of Europe Congress in Krakow, Poland, in October 2025. If a group of women wins, they will select a representative to receive the award on their behalf.

The Jury

The Jury is chaired by the SIE Past President and composed of four other experts, of which the selection will be confirmed by the Soroptimist International of Europe Board.

The Application Process

Please submit the following materials to Carolien Demey, SIE Past President 2024-2025 and Chair of the Peace Prize Jury by April 25th, 2025. The application must include:

- 1. Name of the Union or Single Club submitting the nomination
- 2. Biography of the nominee or head of nominated group (1-page max.)
- 3. General description of the nominee's or group's peace-related activities (400 words max.)
- 4. Description of a particularly noteworthy project implemented by the nominee or group (400 words max.)
- 5. Supporting documentation for her/their peace activities and project

Please submit all materials to Carolien Demey by e-mail at cd.sorop@outlook.com and copy SIEHQ at siehq@soroptimisteurope.org



The first Peace Prize was presented at the 2005 SIE Congress in Vienna, Austria, to **Vera Bohle** for her efforts against the use of landmines and cluster munitions.



The second Peace Prize was awarded in 2007 in Lugano, Switzerland, to **Carla Del Ponte** for her work against crimes against humanity as Chief Prosecutor of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia.



The third Peace Prize was awarded in 2009 at the SIE Congress in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, to **Valdete Idrizi** for her community building work across ethnic lines in Kosovo.



The fourth Peace Prize was awarded in 2011 at the Governors Meeting in Palermo, Italy, to **Sylvia Borren** for her work at the International Women's Committee, a Peace Committee for Israel and the Palestinian Territories.



The fifth Peace Prize was awarded in 2013 at the SIE Congress in Berlin, Germany, to Judge **Silvana Arbia** for her work prosecuting perpetrators of genocide at the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR).



The sixth Peace Prize was awarded in 2015 at the SI Convention in Istanbul, Turkey to **Dr Edit Schlaffer** an Austrian social scientist, writer, and activist. As the founder of an international advocacy, public relations, and lobbying organization called Women Without Borders Dr Schlaffer keeps coming up with creative ways to bring women into the security spotlight and to gather worldwide publicity for women who are fighting violence and terrorism.



The seventh Peace Prize was awarded in 2017 at the SIE Congress in Florence, Italy, to **Gégé Katana Bukuru** of the Democratic Republic of Congo. She received this award for her remarkable and courageous commitment to the fight for women's rights in her war-torn country for over a quarter of a century. She has remained steadfast in her efforts despite death threats, arbitrary arrests, robbery, the systematic looting of her belongings, and the inability to travel for almost ten years.